Reblog from the Thesis Whisperer: How I broke up with my supervisor.

Posted on Updated on

A very interesting article by an anonymous PhD student. I have have many friends in different institutions who have found that there was some conflict between student and supervisor. Most of the time when talked about things get better and problems solved but if they don’t know that there is always a way. You can’t do a PhD without enjoying and embracing it or you will damage your sense of self and even your health. I have been fortunate that my supervisors are absolute legends, I hope others are so lucky or get that lucky in the future. Good luck and best wishes to all PhD and thesis writers.

The Thesis Whisperer

This post, written by a PhD student, who wishes to stay anonymous, was sent to me late last year. Due to my new job, it’s taken me a long time to edit it down and make sure it doesn’t identify the student or their supervisor. I think you will find it an interesting story that highlights the tensions we all experience around the ‘finish at all costs (and on time)’ mentality.

Insitutions are feeling financial pressure to complete candidates within 4 years and put this pressure onto supervisors, who then pressure students. But social media, by connecting students with each other, is giving some the courage to push back against this pressure. Supervisors might feel they are doing their best for a student by behaving as described in this post, but are they really? I’ll be interested to hear what you think in the comments.

Screen Shot 2013-07-27 at 3.13.39 PMI’m a compliant, goody-two-shoes

View original post 1,187 more words

Leave a Reply

